Review: BH Cosmetics First Edition 120 Color Eyeshadow Palette

The front of the 120 Color Palette

The front of the 120 Color Palette

There aren’t many mainstream palettes out there that offer mainly unconventional colors, and there are even less that do it at an affordable-for-a-college-budget price. I knew of the Urban Decay Electric palette, which still would be a wonderful addition to my collection, but when I saw the countless positive reviews for this palette on Amazon, I had to see for myself. Also, my friend Tia, who is a professional makeup artist, recommended the brand to me.

This is a great palette that offers almost any color I could ever need. The colors are pretty much either a hit or miss. The greens, oranges, yellows, purples, and pinks usually have great pigmentation. The blues (one of the main reasons I got it), browns, and whites aren’t as good as I hoped. To be fair, I have not used every color, nor have I made a lot of looks with it. I always apply primer before eye shadow.

Many of the like colors show the same on my skin. I made a green look for Thanksgiving and many of the bright greens in the green row don’t look different on my eyes.

I love making a sunset themed look with the palette (orange, pink, purple, yellow), so I would definitely recommend it for that.

The browns are no match for my MAC and UD shadows- they’re too chalky and aren’t as blendable.

Some colors, which all happen to be matte, don’t show up at all. As far as I know right now, there are 2 or 3 blues/purples and 1 yellow-brown.

Before this palette, I did not have access to other rainbow colors like these. I had a few cool colors as single eye shadows and the Wet n Wild Maldives Sky palette, but I couldn’t make a 1 color themed look. (Is that considered monochromatic?)

I would recommend this to people who want a basic collection of rainbow colors, children who love color as much as me and want something that lasts, and people on a budget. It is good enough to be used on its own, but I want more vivid blues and blendable colors. These colors are very hard to blend.

Maybe it’s a makeup obsession, but I still want more rainbow colors- 120 (minus some duds and neutrals) is not enough.

By the way, there are many versions of this palette from other brands that look exactly alike. I suspect that they are no different and probably come from the same factory. I cannot confirm this, however.

These are all the colors of the palette. I put a grid system on them to explain which colors to avoid.

Organized Palette

L9, L10, and the bottom 3 colors of the G row seem like they’re good highlighters, but they’re nowhere near as nice to apply as my go-to highlights, UD in Verve and MAC in Nylon. If you like subtle brow highlights, then this is perfect for you.

Avoid B4, B8, and B9. I think E2 was also bad. These colors do not show up at all.

Almost all of the glitter shades provide some sort of pigmentation.

The browns are disappointing. I don’t use this palette for the browns, for I prefer the buttery applications of my UD shadows.

I made some swatches of the colors. I forgot which ones they are, but most are from the A and F rows.

Many colors from the F and K rows

Many colors from the F and K rows

Most of these colors are from rows A-D

Most of these colors are from rows A-D

Here are some looks I’ve made with this palette.

Recent blue look

Recent blue look

Amateur light blue look. Taken after a day of wear.

Amateur light blue look. Taken after a day of wear.

Green look

Green look

My cousin. Look was made for fun and not expected to last all day. Her blush is one of the pink or red colors from the palette.

My cousin. Look was made for fun and not expected to last all day. Her blush is one of the pink or red colors from the palette.

Note: Some photos have been altered to show the actual intensity of the shadows.

Leave a Reply

