From Tumblr:

About a month ago, I wrote a post discussing the gender identities of cogs on Toontown. It has been somewhat of a hit in the Toonblr community, which is very gender friendly, so I thought I would share it on WordPress. I’m really happy with what I wrote and that many other people agree with it. Below is the complete post.

I like to see cogs of Toontown in a similar situation to the gems of Steven Universe. They don’t have a sex (and from what I’ve heard, most are genderless).

It makes sense. They’re built to perform corporate activities, so gender is probably not compatible with their software.

But let’s say that their engineer wanted to implement gender expression. I would think that all of them tend to be more masculine (similar to how gems tend to be more feminine), but we do get cogs on the feminine side, who aren’t outright women, such as Micromanager (who reminds me of Edna Mode), The Mingler, Name Dropper, and Number Cruncher.

But really- why would cogs have gender? They’re robots built solely for business purposes, and they’re not to have any feelings. Why would they have a sense of self?

I was reading about Toontown Rewritten’s perception of cogs and how it differs from Toontown Online’s cogs. Disney’s TTO establishes cogs as adult robots whose corporate activities ruin fun for kids. These robots have no personality. They just follow orders. They definitely don’t have gender.

Toontown Rewritten? I can see the potential for them to have gender and a reason behind their gender expression, but I will still stick to the idea that the majority are genderless. But still, they are programmed for corporations. They don’t have time (and probably no will) to think about themselves.

Leave a Reply

