The Phone That Got Away

Sprint lacks good basic phones (opposed to smartphones). Unfortunately, a smartphone plan for 5 people is completely out of my family’s price range, let alone the plan we have already. This means the 5 of us (2 parents, 1 brother, 1 Po Po, and me) must use flip phones, sliding text phones, resistive touch slide phones, etc. Sprint used to have interesting phones from their exclusive brand, Sanyo (Kyocera), such as the Incognito, Innuendo, and Juno/SCP-2700. Now, they only sell typical phones like the Kyocera Verve, the Alcatel ONE touch Retro, and the category of military-strength phones (that are still more basic than basic).

But I thought I could escape the curse when I found a $15 Sanyo SCP-2700, Used-Very Good on eBay.When I received the knock-off Blackberry, it felt like heaven on my fingertips. The only blemishes of the phone were two scratches on the backside, which was fine by me. The phone had my favorite ringtone- Luxury Time, among the other fun Sanyo ringtones. It did not have a touchscreen that would malfunction in the future (like my current 4 year old LG Rumor Touch), nor did it have a slide that would later cause the screen to blank.

I thought everything would be fine when I activated it on my Sprint account; except, it did not.

I tried to activate it myself using the website, but Sprint could not recognize the MEID. I contacted live chat support for help, but they claimed the phone was on Sprint Prepay and could not be used on Postpay. I googled/binged for help on flashing this phone to postpay, but no one seemed to have any answers.

I contacted again, and this time, I told this new agent the former phone number, who said the phone belonged to Boost (That was when I noticed the phone did not have anything that said Sprint OR Boost on it; it might as well have been a generic sample). This agent filed a ticket for the tech support to help me.

A week later, I contacted live help, who told me to call tech support. The ticket was closed by then.

Tech support unsuccessfully tried to activate the phone for me, so they told me I needed an unlock code from Boost. They gave me the number to contact Boost.

Boost Mobile only has tech support for phones that are with them. They do not immediately offer to speak to a live representative until the caller waits without pressing buttons, and then they ask the caller to press 0 for live support. (You can press 0 at any time, however.) I called Boost multiple times, looking for ways to speak to a person in any department, so one could imagine how frustrated I was.

I looked for local Boost stores to see who could unlock the phone for me. None did, but one gave me a number to speak to live support (it actually worked the same as the former number. I do not know why two numbers served the same purpose).

Finally, I pressed 0 and reached tech support. Everything seemed to be fine, despite the fact I was not the original owner and therefore had no access to any PIN codes or other information. Somehow, there was no information of the former account in Boost’s database.

And that was when I had to give up my dream of using this SCP-2700 as my phone.

This post will have a second part discussing the phone I have now.

One thought on “The Phone That Got Away

Leave a Reply

