Atlantic Times Square

On Saturday, I explored the heavily East Asian Atlantic Times Square in heavily East Asian (mostly Chinese) Monterey Park with the help of my cousin, Bonnie. We explored Daiso, Image, Amore/Aritaum, The Face Shop, Tokyo Lifestyle, and Aji Ichiban.

We began our journey eating at Curry House. Unfortunately, I do not remember the names of the dishes. I ate the special with an egg, seafood, and gravy and my brother and my cousin each enjoyed different kinds of katsu. All of the dishes were delicious and cost about $11-12 each. Then, we visited Wing Hip Fung and bought Lotte Ginseng Gum. It tasted like old Chinese men who smoke, and by that I mean my Kwon Kwon who passed away in 2001 when I was 3-4. At least it was $0.50 for 4 pieces.

Next stop was Image, an East Asian beauty store with some accessories. They had something from almost every Korean brand I could remember, and more. However, they don’t have everything. The prices for some products are marked up by $5 or more. Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner 500ml(?) was $28, but under $20 on Amazon or eBay. Clio Lipnicure was $20, but $12 at other places. The Tony Moly fruit they had (it seemed they had everything but Appletox) was $10 or less. I think I will return for something there when I finish using the 50 products I have at home. Also, my mom just bought me Appletox on Amazon. Unfortunately, I didn’t buy anything here. I expected to buy Tony Moly Panda Eye Cooling stick, but they did not have it; they had the base.

We ventured to The Face Shop, where there was a TV playing BIGBANG songs and EXO’s Overdose. My brother fell in love with Overdose and now is much more happy to use the Nature Republic Super Hard hair clay he got in Santee Alley. I bought face masks for him and me. I got a $2 Green Apple mask, and he got a $4 Dragon Mask. I signed up for the membership and got a full sized lemon Herb Day Cleansing Foam in return. They gave me two samples for my purchase: Chia Seed Sebum Control Moisture Cream and Green Tea Toner and Lotion Kit.

Items I purchased from The Face Shop

Items I purchased from The Face Shop

Samples & Membership Gift

Samples & Membership Gift

My brother with his Dragon Character Mask

My brother with his Dragon Character Mask

I purchased a cake eraser at Tokyo Lifestyle  ($1). At Daiso, I purchased 6 erasers (3 erasers/$1.50) for my collection and a foam net, much to my cousin’s recommendation.

Daiso Erasers in a row, Iwako Cake Eraser on the far right

Daiso Erasers in a row, Iwako Cake Eraser on the far right

Daiso Foaming Net

Daiso Foaming Net

Daiso Foaming Net instructions. P.S.- It works and makes soft foam.

Daiso Foaming Net instructions. P.S.- It works and makes soft foam.

I discoved Aji Ichiban is like a Japanese Vua Kho Bo. We bought bags of candy and squid. They had some novelty candy holders; I bought a Chinese ingot for my boyfriend, Ryan.

FullSizeRender(2)

Chinese Ingot with a (strawberry flavored?) red wrapper candy

 

Finally, my mom came back and visited the much anticipated store- the Amore. There is a sign and some literature claiming “Amore has a new name”, which is Aritaum (ar-ree- TA-um), the Korean word for beauty.

Laneige magazine and Aritaum store literature

Laneige magazine and Aritaum store literature

My mom purchased some Laneige products (because she’s officially obsessed with it). I do not know the prices, but she claims Target does not sell these products. Though Amore sells more products than Target, both stores seem to have the same prices; the Amore’s Water Sleeping Pack_EX (Original) is the same price as Target’s Water Sleeping Mask (USA), $23. I think Aritaum is a better deal, for they give samples and have a point system. However, the closest Aritaum/Amore to us is 30 minutes away, so it may be best to purchase from Target, who has a 5% off RED card, because it is much closer. Additionally, they had a sale on Aritaum brand Baby Face Mists (1+1 for $8 total).

Laneige Perfect Renew Emulsion_EX and Perfect Renew Cream_EX

Laneige Perfect Renew Emulsion_EX and Perfect Renew Cream_EX

Baby Face Mist Power Hyaluronic Acid and Ultra Vita C

Baby Face Mist Power Hyaluronic Acid and Ultra Vita C

Aritaum Baby Face Mist power hyaluronic acid ingredients in English

Aritaum Baby Face Mist power hyaluronic acid ingredients in English

Aritaum Baby Face Mist ulta vita C ingredients in English

Aritaum Baby Face Mist ulta vita C ingredients in English

Aritaum mists in their packaging and stickers of ingredients.

Aritaum mists in their packaging and stickers of ingredients.

Here are the generous samples the cashier gave us (she gave some more to Bonnie, too).

Samples of Water Bank Gel Cream, Water Sleeping Pack_EX, Multiberry Yogurt Peeling Gel, Pore Deep Cleansing Foam, and Water Bank Essence

Samples of Water Bank Gel Cream, Water Sleeping Pack_EX, Multiberry Yogurt Peeling Gel, Pore Deep Cleansing Foam, and Water Bank Essence

Samples of Balancing Emulsion, Power Essential Skin Refiner, and Firming Sleeping Pack

Samples of Balancing Emulsion, Power Essential Skin Refiner, and Firming Sleeping Pack

Full Sized Sample of Aritaum Cleansing Tissue (40 wipes)

Full Sized Sample of Aritaum Cleansing Tissue (40 wipes)

Back of Aritaum Cleansing Tissues

Back of Aritaum Cleansing Tissue

Other K-Beauty Facts

  • South Korean company LG owns O HUI and The Face Shop
  • SK:II is owned by Procter and Gamble
  • Remember when I said Iope was sold at S.G. Superstore in San Gabriel? Turns out that is an Amore
  • Amore/Aritaum stores are owned by AmorePacific, and there is one in Van Nuys by Korean market, Greenland Market. The rest are basically in the East Asian saturated parts of Los Angeles.
  • Image Beauty & Fashions has an Instagram, and they sent me a 10% off discount via direct message
Leave a Reply

