Current Skin Care Routine 3/22/2015

This is my current (and long) skin routine.

Morning-

  • Cleanser: Clean & Clear Continuous Control 10% benzoyl peroxide (Walgreens)
    • Makes my face tingly
    • I am not a fan of benzoyl peroxide, but since it is only a cleanser, I will use this until it’s gone. It has not hurt me yet. I may buy it again if I realize its benefits.
  • Toner: Nature Republic Bee Venom Mist Essence (Nature Republic @ Santee Alley)
    • Mists very well
    • I do not know if this is helping my face at all, but my hormones are affecting my face. I hope to buy something cheaper ($10.90+Tax), but I may come back if I realize its benefits.
  • Serum/Medicine: Greenstone Brand Clindamycin Phosphate Topical Gel 1% (Rx, Stater Brothers)
    • Antibiotic
    • I got this 3 years ago, and I am almost out. I hope to get more when I go to the doctor next month. It was $15 with my former insurance, but I have a feeling there won’t be a copay next time.
  • Moisturizer: Clean & Clear Morning Glow SPF15 (Big Lots)
    • Has nearly invisible sparkles
    • I do not like this moisturizer and will not buy it again. It does not smear well and it makes my face whiter, though it may be due to the sunblock part. I do hope to use something else with higher SPF next time.

Evening-

  • Oil Cleanser: Garnier Clean Nourishing Cleansing Oil (Walgreens)
    • This is the cheapest cleansing oil I can get here (~$8), factoring in gas and shipping costs of others. It works for me, though I feel like a little does NOT go a long way.
    • I do not use this everyday
  • Cleanser: Neutrogena Fresh Foaming Scrub
    • This changes all the time. I’m just using up whatever my mom does not use anymore. It works well and it has little orange exfoliating beads. I used to use St. Ives exfoliating cleanser everyday, but I decided to try not exfoliating everyday.
    • This will be replaced with Nature Republic Natural Fermentation Olive Foam Cleanser (Nature Republic)
  • Toner: Nature Republic Bee Venom Mist Essence (Nature Republic)
  • Serum/Medicine: Clean & Clear Acne Spot Treatment 2% Salicylic Acid (Ralph’s)
    • I use this all over my face. It stings a little, then it goes away. This does not burn or dry my skin for a long period of time like Neutrogena On the Spot 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide
    • This was on sale for $5
  • Moisturizer: Clean & Clear Dual Action Moisturizer 2% Salicylic Acid (Walgreens)
    • This makes my face tingly
    • I love this moisturizer because it spreads well and I feel like it works. This is also interchangeable with Clean & Clear Advantage moisturizer, which I used when I bought the Advantage kit 7 years ago.
  • Sleeping Pack: Daiso Collagen Sleeping Pack (Daiso) OR Laneige Water Sleeping Mask (Target)
    • The Daiso pack is alright. I’d use it 3 times a week, but no major change. It was $1.50, so it’s worth its price.
    • I believe the Laneige Water Sleeping Mask is just the American version of the Laneige Water Sleeping Pack EX, but they changed the name because of factors such as Americans going “what the fuck is a sleeping pack?” and keeping the product from looking Korean. (I just have a bit of a hunch that some Americans would buy assumed-European products than a Korean product because if it’s French, it’s luxury, but if it’s anywhere in East Asia, it’s giving away our jobs.)
  • Exfoliator: St. Ives Apricot Scrub (Walgreens) OR Olay Pro-X Cleanser w/ Brush (Amazon)
    • I’ve used St. Ives for almost half my life. It works really well and my nose pores have been getting clogged more often since I stopped using it.
    • The Pro-X cleanser came with the brush, and I’m just trying to use it up, not to mention that it’s pretty much the only cleanser I have that does not leave behind schmutz in the bottom of the brush.
    • Amazon has the cheapest price for the 2-speed brush (about $20). The Scrub is <$4.
  • Sheet Mask: Various Epielle Essence Masks (Big Lots)
    • The first essence mask I ever used was Epielle Collagen, and my mom was amazed with the difference in the brightness of my face. Not too long after that, Big Lots had one of those 20% off everything sales and now my mom has enough sheet masks to use once a week for more than a year. I have pictures to prove.
    • These amazing sheet masks come at the cheap price of 4 for $2, or less during a Big Lots sale. Yes, they are made in Korea.
  • Spot Treatment: Neutrogena On the Spot Acne Treatment 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide
    • Most of the time when I use benzoyl peroxide on my face, I feel terrible about myself because it won’t stop burning or feeling dry. This is typically preceded by me giving into the hope for smaller blemishes and applying it only on certain spots. Most of the time, the troubled spot looks better, but I still feel terrible about myself.
    • Benzoyl peroxide is the reason I would never use Epiduo, next to the reason that Adapalene is a retinoid and I don’t trust retinoids. I used Tretinoin when I was 12 and hated the peeling.

Products I would love to try (Wishlist)

  • Skin Food Black Sugar Mask– I ALWAYS see this in people’s skin regimens.
  • Holika Holika Honey Sleeping Pack– This product looks fun. I love packaging that looks like food (like Skin Food, though I don’t own anything from them). I probably would buy a formula without Canola, which claims to lighten the skin.
  • TONYMOLY Appletox Smooth Massage Peeling Cream– 1. The packaging 2. I love green apples, and I hope this smells like green apple. 3. I’m not one to peel my skin, but perhaps it will work like Vivo Per Lei did before I realized it was a shitty product
  • Etude House Wonder Pore Freshner– Another product I always find in people’s routines. I heard the 500ml bottle lasts a while. I’m a bit concerned for the alcohol in this product, as I prefer to stray from astringents.
  • Skin Food Honey Pot Lip Balm– I wish this product wasn’t so expensive. I forgot how much Northridge priced it. I would not pay more than $3 for this but wish to try it for its packaging and formula.
Leave a Reply

