Sick for Too Long

Since my cruise, I have been suffering from numerous, discontinuous stomachaches and other gastrointestinal problems. I have gone to the doctor’s office twice for a check-up twice since June. Originally, the doctor presumed I had norovirus, but the results from my test could not determine whether or not I had it at the time. By now, it is too late to test for it.

I remember two days after I returned home, I visited my boyfriend, and he became sick soon after that. He experienced lots of vomiting, nausea, and diarrhea while I was in the same situation, minus the vomiting. For two weeks after that, I had diarrhea. Finally, I went to the doctor and she gave me some tests to take, along with diagnosing the section I was experiencing something abnormal (upper, center-my-left abdomen, probably stomach).

I returned to the office about three weeks later, right after my test results came back (parasites, bacteria, rotavirus were negative; norovirus could not be diagnosed). This time, the PA (who is my brother’s pediatrician) claimed that my stomach lining may be low due to the diarrhea, so he prescribed me generic Zantac (ranitidine 150mg) and told me to go on a GERD diet and take probiotics. So far, I’ve been good with the ranitidine and probiotics, but not so much on the diet (sorry, PA).

Currently, I get daily stomachaches and take calcium carbonate (pretty sure that’s CaCO3) antacids for them. My boyfriend got over his sickness recently after taking vitamins, but I do not think it will be that easy for me.

tl;dr I’m not taking a break for this. I’m just explaining

Leave a Reply

