Review: Click

Click is a relatively old movie starring Adam Sandler, Kate Beckinsale, and Christopher Walken. It was advertised as a comedy, but the actual movie has a very personal and emotional meaning that almost everyone can relate to. I watched it on Netflix on 4/10/2014, so it was available then, if not now.

I finished this movie with red eyes and a drenched face. The whole message about family over work really hit home. As a student, I try to mentally fast forward through the days and struggle through the weekdays to get to the weekends and vacations. During this time, I am on “auto-pilot” and I tend to not spend time with my family, though we do spend time on weekends. When Michael Newman’s father died, I noticed he was born in 1944 and he was Jewish. My father shared those (vague) characteristics, but I found myself relating to it.

The beginning of the movie definitely has humor, some cheap, some better. My favorite funny part was when he farted in his boss’s mouth. The duck humping was quite unnecessary and could have been replaced with the dog sitting on the couch.

There was some misogyny in this movie. The boss is supposed to be a big shot asshole, so I understand how the misogyny built his character. However, I don’t condone it in any circumstance. Adam Sandler’s character ridiculed his daughter for not wearing a sweater, but he finally understands it is not his choice for what she wears at his son’s wedding. There is a part where he pauses in the middle of fast forwarding to stare at a female jogger’s boobs. That was unnecessary and the misogyny did not help build his character. It’s not that solely gawking is a bad thing, but it’s how sexualized her body was that was bad. This part could have easily been deleted. On the upside, he does show that he wants to please his wife, for she is upset when she is unsatisfied in bed. The misogyny in this movie was not as strong as other movies.

The core message of this movie made a gigantic impact. I don’t see any way to escape the crying. I cried when I saw this years ago, and I cried when I watched it again. The makeup was perfect, for the actors were aged very well. Sandler’s acting was strong when he was discovering his divorce, weight gain, children’s growth, and father’s death. The scenes could not have been so emotional without him. The last 30 minutes, or so, of the movie is what really makes Click a great film.

 

Leave a Reply

