What’s On the Menu?

When I’m in the San Fernando neighborhood, there are a variety of places to eat. Here are some of my favorite restaurants.

Menudo is a big part of my life, so that is the only thing I eat at Graciana Mexican Restaurant and Rigo’s Tacos #3.

When I’m not eating menudo, I’m at these places eating something else.

Taco El Oso (currently not open)

  • Chile Relleno
  • Fish Tacos
  • Lengua Tacos (tongue)

Heavenly Pancakes (currently not open)

  • Anything on the Special menu
  • Philly Cheesesteak
  • Fish

Teriyaki House

  • Sashimi Salad
  • Uni (sea urchin)

Wendill’s Thai Restaurant

  • Beef Salad (without spiciness)

Casa Torres

  • Shrimp Fajita
  • Shrimp wrapped in cheese and bacon

There’s also a meat market on San Fernando Road that sells tacos at night for at least $1.25 and they come in many different meats. The atmosphere is great, and I feel bad that I have not been there in so long. I think it used to be called Rodriguez Meat Market, but they changed owners and I do not remember the name. At this place, I usually get 3 tacos. 1 is lengua, 1 is al pastor, and 1 is random. I’ve tried tacos de tripas, but I’m not big on them (which must be weird because I love menudo, yet it’s not the same flavor).

For many of these items (especially the Mexican items), I used the English name for it just in case you gringos want to order them.

Leave a Reply

